February 22, 2011

I wish I could remember where I pulled this image from, and who made it, but I can’t**. If you know help me out. In the meantime, today I made one:

**Edit. From here.

11 Responses to “”

  1. Afton Says:

    Love this. I might have to try to make one for myself. Did you finish the ends with linen?


    • I just used a flat, plain white cotton twill tape and wrapped it twice. It would have been beautiful with linen but I just used some materials I already had. Another good secret about the finishing is that I set the braid with a light misting of hairspray, to kind of keep the whole thing from shedding on all my mostly black clothes.

  2. Brighid Says:

    I thought of making one of these with my actual hair. I still have the braid that was left when I chopped off my hair, and it’s about 12″ long! If not this, then I definitely want to turn it into something else that I can wear. Brainstorming.

  3. Bri Says:

    Want! Too bad my birthday isn’t coming up because otherwise my comment would be “my BIRTHDAY is coming up… HINT HINT.”


  4. I’ll keep that in mind, sister!

  5. Pour Porter Says:

    Just as an FYI: Elsinore Carabetta, the originator and designer of the necklace that you’ve DIY’d is a fourth year student at RISD. She graduates this year and doesn’t have a job yet and is not only amazingly talented but has worked very hard to not only earn her degree, but provide unique items just for our shop. For a young designer, this is really special for them, and we’re more than happy to provide her the opportunity.

    Please keep in mind that when you DIY someone else’s idea, and I’m talking about a single individual not some massive corporation that makes their goods in a sweatshop in China, you’re in a way degrading their creativity and hard work. I appreciate that you asked to remember where this was originally found, but this is Elsinore’s idea and she deserves credit and she deserves to not have her idea stolen. Please think about this before you want to borrow another designer’s very unique piece of art. Thanks.


  6. Thanks for your thoughts. As an artist and a former small business owner of course I understand your position. I am also of the mindset that ideas are for sharing, in fact you may notice that a project that I developed was recently shared with a full detailed how-to tutorial on a highly trafficked blog, even though that project is a product I developed to sell. I think maybe I just come to something like this from a different place. In any case, it was a fun little project on a Saturday afternoon and I’m sorry it bums you out. You have a lovely shop and I hope that you received some traffic from my post.

    • Pour Porter Says:

      Hey,
      I do love the sharing amongst the DIY community, but I also think it’s important that the originator is asked prior to an appropriation in addition to crediting. Some artists like you might be 100% behind the idea, and some not. I just think it’s important to check first. I’ve had friends who gave up on their businesses because of rampant appropriation. It’s hard too with the internet these days to try and protect one’s designs when you’re tiny and don’t have a lot of money. Of course, the silver lining is it really drives one to dig deep into their creative reserves to stay one step ahead! I guess ultimately that what I’m really concerned about is that the original artist is credited and consulted and that their talent and hard work is acknowledged.
      Thanks for engaging in this conversation with me, it’s something I wish all of us in the blogging community would do a bit more often! And yes, thanks for the linkage too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

