August 30, 2010

Aha….so that’s why everyone loves 8 1/2 so much. Because it is the best film ever made.

I had the pleasure to see it for the first time last night on the big screen, the old faithful Clinton Street Theater has it all this week, a new 35mm print no less. Seriously, I teared up a couple of times simply because I was enjoying it so much. In a way I’m glad it took me this long to see it because it was so worth seeing it the way it should be, on the big screen. I might go again tonight.

5 Responses to “”

  1. John Says:

    Ooh good idea. I haven’t seen it since high school, when I probably didn’t get it (but I know I thought the bubble helicopter was so cool.)


  2. I know…I saw La Dolce Vita when I was 18, at the same theater no less, and I’m sure I totally thought I “got” it…but now having seen 8 1/2 I think that so much must have passed over my head. I need a rewatch! When Matt and I were leaving the theater last night we were talking about how we totally related this film, and how moving it was, blah blah blah, and then we laughed and said we will probably rewatch it when we are 50 and roll our eyes about how we thought we “got it” when we were 30.

  3. andrea Says:

    8 1/2 is one of my all time favorite movies, and why I was so… disappointed… at them making “9” Blerg. But I hear you on the tearing up. Sometimes things are just.. so.. GOOD.

  4. Emma Says:

    SO HAPPY to have read this. totally going tonight. one of my favorite favorites.

  5. stylembe Says:

    Nice poster. I too am an 8½ fan, so much so that I created a little homage incorporating my art into the film by way of animated gifs – http://stylembe.wordpress.com/2010/04/30/ledizione-di-3/
    Hope you like. Peter


Leave a Reply

